If you have been exploring and trying to know about the ITIL Foundation Certification then you are at the right spot. Apart from just knowing the benefits that this certification has to offer to you, there is a lot more you need to know.Here in this article, we will highlight the basic knowledge about the Top 5 important components of ITIL Foundation Certification which is important for you to know in case you are planning to take this certification.

Simplilearn’s 5 components of ITIL Service Lifecycle

If we talk about the framework of ITIL Foundation Certification then it is important for you to know that it is divided into five broad components or say the categories. These are ITIL Service Strategy, ITIL Service Design, ITIL Service Transition, ITIL Service Operation and ITIL Continual Service Improvement. All these are an integral part of ITIL Service Lifecycle.

ITIL Core Component: Service Strategy

Service strategy is the Core Component of  ITIL. The aim of this component is to equip you with the strategy for the service lifecycle that needs to be in sync with not only the business objectives of the customer but also with managing the services. It basically provides you with the definition of the strategy as well as the governance control. This ensures that the service you are provided is relevant for the purpose and for the use which in itself is important as these add value in delivering the appropriate services to customers. The relevant service concepts are prepared for the selection of the services that need to be provided. The three major parts of Service Portfolio Management Process is the Service Pipeline, Service Catalog, and the Retired Services. This is important because it helps to identify, describe, evaluate, select and charter the service. Next in line comes the Demand Management Process that is concerned primarily with understanding and then influencing the customer demand. Financial Management Process, on the other hand, lets you understand and manage the costs as well as opportunities that are associated with the services in financial terms.

ITIL Core Component: Service Design

The phase of Service Design in the life-cycle is concerned with the design of the services as well as the supporting elements required for the introduction of the same into the live environment. There are four things that need to be considered in the designing phase. These are people that refer to the human resources, processes, products, and partners which are all required to support the service. The processes include the Service Catalog Management containing services that are currently available to the customers as well as the users. It involves the management and the control of the Service Catalog that carries the information about services. Service Level Management deals with securing as well as managing the agreements between the clients and the service provider with regards to the levels of performance and reliability.

ITIL Core Component: Service Transition

Service Transition process has but one objective to build as well as deploy the IT services by ensuring that the processes take place in coordination. Here the design is prepared, tested and then moved into the production so as to enable the business customer to attain the desired value. From controlling the assets and configuring the items associated with the same to support the personnel, as well as the production environment all, are considered here itself. Change Management controls the life cycle and enables beneficial changes with minimal disruption to IT services. Change Evaluation assesses the major changes and Project Management aims at planning and coordinating the use of the resources to deploy a major release that remains in the range of the predicted cost, time as well as the quality estimates.

ITIL Core Component: Service Operation

The major objective of this component is to make sure that CIs, as well as the services, are constantly monitored. Also, it keeps an eagle eye on filtering and categorizing the events so that decisions can be made regarding the appropriate actions to be taken. Incident Management, on the one hand, manages the life cycle of all the Incidents and return the IT service to the users in the quickest possible time. On the other hand, Request Fulfilment fulfills the Service Requests and Access Management grants authorized users with the right to make use of a service and at the same time prevents the unauthorized users from having the access to the same. Problem Management manages the lifecycle of the problems that are associated with it and prevent Incidents from taking place in the first instance and minimizing the impact of these incidents on the other hand.

ITIL Core Component: Continual Service Improvement

The prime objective of this core component is to make use of the methods from the quality management which facilitates learning from the past successes as well as failures. Its aim is to enhance the effectiveness as well as the efficiency of the IT processes as well as services in continuity.  It provides IT organization with the mechanism to measure as well as improve the service levels and technology besides efficiency and effectiveness of the processes that are used in the overall management of these services.

All in all, these are the Top 5 important components of ITIL Foundation Certification. If you have any doubt regarding whether to pursue this or not then the knowledge that you are going to gain under the 5 components that the certification provides should be attractive enough to convince you to pursue this course. if you are concerned about the time and money that you will need to dedicate towards doing the same then you need not worry about the same as this certification course can be done in a pocket-friendly budget requiring a little time. A little effort on your end today has the potential to reap great benefits for you in the time to come. Not only are the certified professional acknowledged all across the globe but there are wide job opportunities that are waiting for you with open arms.

Similar Posts